image Cinema Eye Honors pulled off its third annual event celebrating documentary craft and innovation in multiple categories. The ceremony, held at the auditorium in the New York Times building, was co-hosted by AJ Schnack and Esther Robinson and featured an array of doc luminaries as presenters including Barbara Kopple, Albert Maysles and Peter Davis. The night’s big winners were THE COVE (Best Feature, Cinematography, Production), Agnes Varda (Best Director), THE SEPTEMBER ISSUE (Audience Award), and OCTOBER COUNTRY (Best Debut, Composer). See Indiewire for the full list of winners.

After the ceremony, the party moved down 41st Street to the Arena nightclub. Pictured on top are presenters Carl Deal and Tia Lessin (TROUBLE THE WATER), flanking Peter Davis (HEARTS & MINDS) with Amir Bar-Lev (THE TILLMAN STORY) on right.

image Sundance Bound in one short week: Laura Poitras (THE OATH) and Robin Hessman (MY PERESTROIKA).
image STF executive director Raphaela Neihausen and filmmaker Almudena Carracedo (MADE IN LA) comparing bumps.
image The filmmakers behind OCTOBER COUNTRY: Michael Palmieri and Donal Mosher.
imageDirector of EPISODE 3: ENJOY POVERTY (nominated for a Spotlight Award) Renzo Martens.
imageRecipient of the Cinema Eye Legacy Award for his film SHERMAN’S MARCH, Ross McElwee poses with former student Nina Davenport (PARALLEL LINES, OPERATION FILMMAKER).
image FIlmmaker Trish Dalton with Rooftop Films’ Mark Elijah Rosenberg.
image CEH co-chair Esther Robinson with D-Word founder and filmmaker (51 BIRCH STREET, THE KIDS GROW UP) Doug Block.
image Shooting People’s Ingrid Kopp and Esther Robinson practicing the same “how to take photos like a model” technique that you’ll find in the first photo of the Shooting People blog on CEH.
image Mr. and Mrs. STF (photo credit: Ross McElwee).